DefJam Africa has revealed a 16-tracklist curated by CEO of Universal Music South Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa Sipho Dlamini. This compilation is inspired by the ‘Coming to America 2’ movie which is scheduled for release on March 5th, 2021 .

This move is aimed at projecting new music coming up from the African continent. The compilation’s 16 tracks are comprised of African artists from across the diaspora, many of whom are also signed to Universal Music Africa.

The soundtrack arrives in tandem with the recently revealed ‘Coming 2 America’ Original Motion Picture Soundtrack and the highly anticipated comedy ‘Coming 2 America,’ which premieres exclusively on Amazon Prime Video in 240 countries and territories the same day.

“It was important for Def Jam Africa to be involved because the first film was so legendary to Africans in the diaspora,” said Sipho Dlamini. “The film franchise is tongue-in-cheek but conveys a rich quality of life in Africa. That is reflected in the music on Rhythms of Zamunda. We wanted to represent some of the sounds that are relevant, impactful, and current on the continent.”

Artists making the list include Fally Ipupa from the Democratic Republic of Congo, Prince Kaybee, Tiwa Savage and Tekno from Nigeria, the late DJ Arafat from Côte d’Ivoire and Nasty C and Msaki of South Africa.

See the “Rhythms of Zamunda: Music Inspired By Coming 2 America” list below:

  1. Black And White – Nasty C ft. Ari Lennox
  2. Owo Ni Koko – Larry Gaaga & Umuobiligbo
  3. Magnet – Locko
  4. Skeletun – Tekno
  5. Overdue – Tellaman Feat. Sha Sha
  6. Jiggy Bop – Alpha P & TMXO
  7. Dosabado – DJ Arafat
  8. Fetch Your Life – Prince Kaybee Feat. Msaki
  9. Dangerous Love – Tiwa Savage (DJ Ganyani Amapiano Radio Edit Remix)
  10. Moya Omubi – Th&o.
  11. Hallelujah – Diamond Platnumz Feat. Morgan Heritage
  12. Ye Mama – Toofan Feat. Fally Ipupa
  13. Ain’t It True – Bonj
  14. Loke Loke – Gemini Major Feat. ANATII
  15. Shesha – De Mthuda & Njelic
  16. Everything – Ricky Tyler